Top 5 Websites to Fuel Your Spirit or Your Soul

17 06 2010

© June 2010 by Fabienne Lopez

One of the goals of Astrology Unboxed is to support your personal growth, facilitate your development, spark your imagination and fuel your spirit.

To that end I have gathered together my favorite free or low fee resources on the web. My top websites are not necessarily astrology related, but they have tools that help me grow, make me think, get me unstuck and in generally kept me moving.  Those website are good food for the soul!

At the time of publishing, all the links are accurate. But things can change. If you have trouble with any of them, try googling the resource.

#1: The Wheel of Life – Great for assessment!

This a classic life-coaching exercise. If you want to make changes in your life the first step is to find out where you are right now. Once you’ve identified the gap between where you are and where you want to be, you can begin to take steps in the direction of a fulfilled life.  This tool can also help you define goals.

Mindtools offers a free online tool to help you take a read on your current level of life satisfaction in 9 areas of your life: Career, Fun and Recreation, Money and Finances, Physical environment, Personal Growth, Health and Well Being, Friendship, Family, Significant Other and Romance.

The results highlight the areas where you can acknowledge yourself and areas that you might want to set some goals.

#2: Free the Genie

I just love the name behind Mitch Ditkoff’s idea. Founder of IdeaChampions.com, he has created an innovative deck of cards to facilitate brainstorming and problem solving. There is a free down-sized version online that you can use anytime. The cards offer a variety of problem solving options. Bring a clearly defined problem and choose one of the four “games” offered: One Card Oracle, Either/Or D’oeuvre, Incubation Nation, or What Suits You. Go play, have some fun, and get new direction or insight for your next project, workshop or business strategy.

#3: Signature Strength Assessment

At authentichappiness.org you can take a free online assessment to determine your signature strengths. It’s called the VIA Signature Strengths Questionnaire. This is no ordinary assessment however; it has about 245 questions and is based on the extensive research of Dr. Martin E. P. Seligman. There are quite a number of surveys and questionnaires available on the site and you can create an account to track your progress towards the cultivation of happiness.

Martin E. P. Seligman is the psychologist that organized the positive psychology movement and the best selling author of Authentic Happiness.

#4: One at Hat a Time

The One Hat At A Time® are momentum cards that start from the commonplace metaphor of hats to describe the various roles that people play in their lives – parent, manager, volunteer, Sunday painter, choir member, mentor, caregiver, consumer, and so forth. Throughout history, hats have been used to identify various trades and occupations, from the sailor’s cap to the king’s crown to the fireman’s helmet. Hats thus provide a rich vocabulary to draw on. I use this deck of cards to help me change perspective, when I want to find a solution to a problem, and I am unable to do so because of a tunnel vision mode I am stuck in.

#5: Coaching Toys

It’s an online store with different products related to life-coaching, creativity, personal growth. They have a newsletter with exercises, reflections, and journal prompts that in their own words is “Playful, creative or thought provoking to keep your personal growth journey fresh.“

One of my favorites products there is Enrichuals. Enrichuals is a deck of 64 cards designed to jump-start your creative process. Each card is a playful assemblage of words and images on one side and beautiful words of wisdom, encouragement and inspiration on the other. I use the cards as prompt for my journal, as a warm-up exercise when I feel I have nothing to say in my blog.

Use one of these sites to help you expand your creativity and explore passion, deepen your spirituality and open to play. I recommend them!


Actions

Information

4 responses

15 07 2010
suzannevadnaismonson

Thank you for your kind words about my enrichuals cards Fabienne! I am just getting underway with social media and am setting up a site around the enrichuals concept. I love reading about what you are doing.

Suzanne Vadnais Monson

15 07 2010
Astrology Unboxed

Dear Suzanne:

You are most most welcome I love your cards and have used them as prompt when I feel stuck in writing or when I need to meditate on a problem. Welcome to the social media. You will find a interesting place for friendship and shared creativity. Any more card decks in the wings?

18 06 2010
Jorge Torres

Thank You Fabienne Lopez !!!

Great Sites !!!

I am Starting to visit them when time is available !!!

Blessings !!!

19 06 2010
Astrology Unboxed

Thanks, Jorge. I hope you like them and find them useful. Also if you one you think is interesting do not hesitate to share with us.

Leave a comment